The Elburn Fire Department, Service to Others Scholarship, is a grant for education after high school. The amount of money awarded will not be less than one thousand dollars($1,000). The Elburn Fire Department exists to serve others, our members hold themselves to a list of values, called The Elburn Way! The first value in the Elburn Way, is Service to Others.

Candidates must meet a list of official requirements to prove they are eligible. Eligible candidates must fill out an application (see below). Applications must be submitted on or before June 18, 2020. Applications submitted after June 18, 2020 will not be accepted.

A board of randomly selected members from Fire Departments in Kane County Illinois will read the applications and select a winner. Applicant’s names will be kept confidential from the board by the committee chairperson until after a winner is decided upon. Winner(s) will be contacted no later than August 11, 2020. Rules have been decided upon by the Program Director and Administration of the ECFPD.

  • Service to Others Scholarship Regulations

    • Eligible applicants must be: Firefighters, EMTs,(children of), Explorers, or Students in a Fire Science Program, within Kane County, and will be required to be in good standing with the sponsoring agency or organization.
    • Applicants must successfully graduate high school and have no less than a 2.5 cumulative GPA on a 4.0 scale or equivalent.
    • Acceptance of said scholarship imposes an obligation to begin and complete the educational program for which funds were requested.
    • All scholarship money will be distributed directly to the Bursar’s office of recipient’s university, community college, program or trade school. Please be sure to include this address with applications.
    • Scholarship(s) awarded are grants, not loans. Recipients are encouraged to do whatever they can, when they are financially able, to assure that the Service to Others Scholarship continues to have the resources to grant such assistance to deserving individuals in the future.
    • The applications submitted will be reviewed by a committee of Firefighters/EMTs/Paramedics that operate within Kane County,Illinois. Said committee will consist of a committee chairperson from the Elburn & Countryside Fire Protection District and five members from at least four different fire departments or fire protection districts. Said committee will have final decision regarding the awarding of scholarship(s).
    • Applications will be made available in March and scholarship(s) will be awarded no later than August 10th, for the fall semester of that academic year.
  • Please answer our few questions with short simple answers by clicking on the link below. Thank you for your application and good luck to you!

    Service to Others Scholarship Application